Digital transformation – an upheaval that is reshaping every aspect of our lives. An interview with Dr Robert Mayr, chairman of DATEV’s Executive Board, on change driven by IT, valuable data, and actively tackling the opportunities unlocked by the transformation process.

Technological change has always existed. How is the digital transformation different?

Dr. Robert Mayr: Earlier, technological changes were more of a lengthy process. With the digital transformation, things are different – digitization is rapidly turning the entire business world, in all of its facets, upside down. The digital transformation isn’t some vision for the future, it’s already in full swing.

The term “digital transformation” describes a transition – a transition to a world where IT connects everything together. What does this mean for our working environment?

Dr. Robert Mayr: Smartphones and tablets have already lifted most of the geographic limits on the permanent exchange of information. At the same time, the systems are becoming increasingly fast and distributing an increasing amount of data. Devices and machines are being connected, a large number of processes are now fully automated. The primary goal for companies is to systematically digitize all of their business processes and increase efficiency. The basis for all of this is technology – cloud computing, big data analytics, and intelligent networks are affecting opportunities just as much as the increasingly varied, compact, and more powerful devices.

What is the significance of the digital transformation for DATEV and its members?

Dr. Robert Mayr: As DATEV, we need to clearly understand what we’re facing, and draw conclusions from it. After all, the digital transformation is having an impact on everyone, including tax consultants, auditors, and attorneys. The demands of modern financial management and the changes to small and medium enterprises mean that we need to rethink our views – both with regard to internal processes as well as strategic consultancy management. Anyone that doesn’t adapt might end up missing out on the future. This is because, in the foreseeable future, traditional activities will be replaced and an increasing number of businesspeople will enter the market that deal with digitization completely differently – and also expect it from their consultant.

But technological advancements aren’t anything unusual for tax consultants…

Dr. Robert Mayr: But this time, everything is changing as a result of the digital transformation – and especially because the fiscal authorities are also entering the electronic age and collecting and demanding an increasing amount of data in digital form. This level of digitization is still unfamiliar to some tax consultants, and many clients are also not yet fully tapping this potential. This results in the need to switch between data formats, which costs time and makes it more difficult to offer comprehensive consulting services.

Dr. Robert Mayr

„Digitization is rapidly turning the entire business world, in all of its facets, upside down.“

Dr. Robert Mayr
Dr Robert Mayr
On April 1, 2016, the tax consultant Dr Robert Mayr became chairman of the cooperative’s Executive Board. Prior to this date, he was deputy chairman and, in addition to the Internal Data Processing and Production department, also responsible for Purchasing and Finance. He is the third chairman in the 50-year history of the company.

What are the positive effects of the digital transformation?

Dr. Robert Mayr: It allows us to considerably simplify many activities, particularly unproductive administrative activities. Processes become increasingly interconnected. For example, connecting and automating order management and accounting has led to a significant increase in processing speed. Take, for example, the entire workflow of processing an invoice, which can be reduced by half an hour to only a few minutes this way. And, similarly, every task that can be standardized can be completed digitally, which allows tax consultants to spend more time actually consulting. This alone shows that digitization isn’t an end in itself – the point is to create more value for the client.

What do you believe will be the future role of DATEV and IT overall?

Dr. Robert Mayr: Up until now, IT had mainly performed supporting functions. But the digital transformation is changing this – IT itself is becoming a productive factor. This results in new expectations of us when it comes to the services we provide. We will take on a pioneering role, drive advancements forward, and develop new business ideas for our members – with our experience as a data center operator, we are a cloud pioneer and have decades of experience to draw on. We initiated the “DATEV 2025” strategy process, which builds on this.

What does that mean exactly?

Dr. Robert Mayr:We have defined strategic guidelines so that, in the future, our members will be able to even better advise their clients. We want to provide solutions that support business processes without the need to switch between different data formats. In this context, the DATEV Cloud is our top priority and, in the future, the number of online solutions we offer will increase significantly.
Furthermore, we want to unlock the wealth of data available in a manner that benefits our members. So far, we have only processed data on behalf of our members – in the future, we will need to intensify our use of the data, and it goes without saying that we will do so while taking privacy fully into consideration. We are going to develop ideas for data-driven and profitable business consulting activities on the basis of big-data technologies. This is how we will enable our members to provide their clients with even more comprehensive, forward-looking support.
We also believe the phrase “without needing to switch data formats” means creating interfaces to other manufacturers. This is how we want to optimize workflows between companies and consultants on a wider scale. With DATEVconnect online, we have already taken the first step in this regard.

In this context, how will you ensure that sensitive data remains secure?

Dr. Robert Mayr:DATEV has stood for privacy and IT security for 50 years. These two factors are always our top priority in everything we develop. Or, to put it another way: we only utilize a technology if we are absolutely certain that it is secure. In order to perform this balancing act between thinking ahead and maintaining security, we continue to refine our culture of innovation. We create the space necessary to more markedly stimulate our employees’ creativity and encourage them to play an active role.

And what does your vision for the future look like when it comes to your members?

Dr. Robert Mayr:Digital change represents an opportunity for all of us – if we can get the people on board. The same applies to clients as it does to a consultancy’s employees. Those that systematically take advantage of these opportunities will be able to largely free themselves from purely administrative tasks and, in the future, actively support companies in running their operations using a wide range of client-related data. This is both a challenging as well as promising outlook.

 

Thank you for the interview!

DIGITIZATION
Digitization is in full swing in all areas of business. This is creating enormous future opportunities, particularly for tax consultants.

Die digitale Transformation – ein Umbruch, der sämtliche Lebensbereiche neu gestaltet. Der DATEV-Vorstandsvorsitzende Dr. Robert Mayr im Gespräch über einen von der IT getriebenen Wandel, Datenschätze und die Chancen, den Transformationsprozess aktiv anzugehen.

Technologischen Wandel hat es schon immer gegeben. Wodurch unterscheidet sich die digitale Transformation?

Dr. Robert Mayr: Früher waren technologische Umbrüche eher ein langwieriger Prozess. Bei der digitalen Transformation ist das anders: Sie krempelt das komplette Wirtschaftsleben in allen Facetten und im Eiltempo um. Die digitale Transformation ist keine Zukunftsvision, sondern bereits in vollem Gange.

Der Begriff „digitale Transformation“ beschreibt einen Übergang – zu einer IT, die alles mit allem vernetzt. Was bedeutet das für unsere Arbeitswelt?

Dr. Robert Mayr: Smartphones und Tablets sorgen schon jetzt dafür, dass dem permanenten Informationsaustausch kaum noch geografische Grenzen gesetzt sind. Parallel dazu werden die Systeme immer schneller und verteilen stetig steigende Datenvolumina. Geräte und Maschinen werden vernetzt, eine Reihe von Prozessen läuft inzwischen vollkommen automatisiert ab. Für die Wirtschaft geht es vor allem darum, alle Geschäftsprozesse konsequent zu digitalisieren und die Effizienz zu steigern. Die Basis für das alles ist die Technologie: Cloud Computing, Big Data Analytics und intelligente Netze beeinflussen die Möglichkeiten ebenso wie die immer vielfältiger, kompakter und leistungsfähiger werdenden Endgeräte.

Welche Bedeutung hat die digitale Transformation für die DATEV und ihre Mitglieder?

Dr. Robert Mayr: Wir müssen als DATEV sehr genau verstehen, was auf uns zukommt, und Schlüsse daraus ziehen. Denn die digitale Transformation macht auch vor Steuerberatern, Wirtschaftsprüfern und Rechtsanwälten nicht halt. Die Anforderungen der modernen Finanzverwaltung und die Veränderungen im Mittelstand erfordern ein Umdenken sowohl in den Prozessen als auch in der strategischen Kanzleiführung. Wer sich nicht darauf einstellt, verpasst vielleicht die Zukunft. Denn klassische Tätigkeiten werden in absehbarer Zeit ersetzt, und zudem kommen immer mehr Unternehmer in den Markt, die völlig anders mit dem Digitalisierungsthema umgehen – und das auch von ihrem Berater erwarten.

Aber technische Neuerungen sind für Steuerberater nichts Ungewöhnliches...

Dr. Robert Mayr: Mit der digitalen Transformation ändert sich dieses Mal alles. Zumal sich auch die Finanzverwaltung in das elektronische Zeitalter aufmacht und immer mehr Daten in digitaler Form erhebt und einfordert. In diesem Umfang ist die Digitalisierung für manchen Steuerberater noch unbekannt, und auch viele Mandanten nutzen das Potenzial noch nicht aus. So ergeben sich Medienbrüche, die Zeit kosten – und die außerdem eine ganzheitliche Beratung erschweren.

Dr. Robert Mayr

„Die Digitalisierung krempelt das komplette Wirtschaftsleben in allen Facetten und im Eiltempo um.“

Dr. Robert Mayr
Dr. Robert Mayr
Zum 1. April 2016 übernahm der Steuerberater Dr. Robert Mayr den Vorstandsvorsitz der Genossenschaft. Er war zuvor stellvertretender Vorstandsvorsitzender und neben dem Ressort Interne Datenverarbeitung und Produktion auch für die Bereiche Einkauf und Finanzen verantwortlich. Er ist der dritte Vorstandsvorsitzende in der 50jährigen Geschichte des Unternehmens.

Was bringt die digitale Transformation auf der Habenseite?

Dr. Robert Mayr: Gerade die unproduktiven administrativen Tätigkeiten lassen sich enorm vereinfachen. Prozesse rücken immer enger zusammen. So führt zum Beispiel das Vernetzen und Automatisieren von Auftrags- und Rechnungswesen dazu, dass die Prozessgeschwindigkeit erheblich gesteigert wird. Nehmen Sie beispielsweise den Gesamtbearbeitungslauf einer Rechnung, der auf diese Weise von einer halben Stunde auf wenige Minuten reduziert wird. Und so können alle Aufgaben, die standardisierbar sind, digital erledigt werden. Mit der Folge, dass mehr Steuer-„Beratung“ möglich wird. Daran zeigt sich, dass die Digitalisierung kein Selbstzweck ist: Es geht darum, Mehrwert für den Mandanten zu schaffen.

Wo sehen Sie die künftige Rolle der DATEV und der IT insgesamt?

Dr. Robert Mayr: Bislang hat die IT vor allem unterstützende Funktionen ein­genommen. Mit der digitalen Transformation ändert sich das: Die IT wird selbst zum produktiven Faktor. Dadurch ergibt sich für uns ein neuer Leistungsanspruch. Wir werden eine Vorreiterrolle einnehmen, Impulse geben und neue Geschäftsideen für unsere Mitglieder entwickeln – mit unserer Erfahrung als Rechenzentrumsbetreiber sind wir sozusagen Cloud-Pionier und verfügen über eine jahrzehntelange Erfahrung. Hierauf aufbauend haben wir den Strategieprozess „DATEV 2025“ angestoßen.

Was genau bedeutet das?

Dr. Robert Mayr: Wir haben strategische Leitplanken definiert, damit unsere Mitglieder ihre Mandanten künftig noch besser beraten können. Wir wollen Lösungen bereitstellen, die medienbruchfreie betriebswirtschaftliche Prozesse unterstützen. Die DATEV-Cloud steht dabei an erster Stelle. Der Anteil unserer Online-Lösungen wird sich künftig deutlich erhöhen.
Außerdem wollen wir den Datenschatz im Sinne unserer Mitglieder heben. Bislang haben wir im Auftrag unserer Mitglieder nur Daten verarbeitet. In Zukunft müssen wir noch stärker mit den Daten arbeiten, selbstverständlich unter voller Berücksichtigung des Datenschutzes. Auf der Basis von Big-Data-Technologien werden wir Ideen für eine datenbasierte und profitable betriebswirtschaftliche Beratung entwickeln. So ermöglichen wir eine noch umfassendere und nach vorne gerichtete Unterstützung der Mandanten durch unsere Mitglieder.
„Medienbruchfrei“ bedeutet für uns auch, Schnittstellen zu anderen Herstellern zu schaffen. Damit wollen wir die Arbeitsabläufe zwischen Unternehmen und Beratern auf breiter Basis optimieren. Mit DATEVconnect online haben wir hier bereits den ersten Schritt getan.

Wie gewährleisten Sie dabei den sicheren Umgang mit sensiblen Daten?

Dr. Robert Mayr: Die DATEV steht seit 50 Jahren für Datenschutz und IT-Sicherheit. Diese beiden Faktoren haben bei all dem, was wir entwickeln, immer Vorrang. Oder anders formuliert: Nur wenn wir von der Sicherheit einer Technologie überzeugt sind, kommt sie auch zum Einsatz.
Um diesen Spagat zwischen Vorausdenken und Sicherheit vollführen zu können, entwickeln wir unsere eigene Innovationskultur weiter. Wir schaffen Räume, um die Kreativität unserer Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter noch stärker zu fördern und sie zum Mitmachen einzuladen.

Und Ihre Zukunftsvision für die Mitglieder, wie sieht die aus?

Dr. Robert Mayr: Der digitale Wandel ist für uns alle eine Chance – wenn wir die Menschen mitnehmen. Das gilt gleichermaßen für die Mandanten wie für die Angestellten innerhalb der Kanzlei. Wer diese Chance konsequent nutzt, kann sich weitgehend von rein verwaltenden Tätigkeiten entlasten und die Unternehmen künftig mithilfe einer breiten mandantenbezogenen Datenbasis aktiv bei der Steuerung des Betriebs unterstützen. Eine anspruchsvolle und zugleich Erfolg versprechende Perspektive.

 

Vielen Dank für das Gespräch.

DIGITALISIERUNG
In allen Bereichen der Wirtschaft ist die Digitalisierung in vollem Gange. Gerade für die steuerliche Beratung ergeben sich dadurch enorme Zukunftschancen.